“The Era of Ragtime had run out”

“…as if history were no more than a tune on a player piano. But we did not know that, then.”

The Little Boy, “Epilogue/Finale”

The Immigrant Chorus Women

 

And with that, ’tis done. Ragtime–and summer musical–are over for another year. Some of these people I will see between now and next summer, but most of them are summer-only folks, and seeing them is part of the summer musical tradition. The HAC show next year is Cabaret, so I’m not sure if I’ll be auditioning for it. I can sing all the major female roles (ROCK the contralto-ness, people), but I’ll have to see what else is going on. I try to do at least one musical every year, but I’m picky about them. I want to have music I can sink my teeth into, or a show that’s going to be lots of fun–preferably both, like this year. It was a LOT of hard work, but it paid off in spades when we got a standing ovation every night!

So now I’m pretty “not busy”, theater wise, until the fall. I’ll still post here, but it’ll be on more general theater/voice/music stuff, as opposed to show-specific posts. There will be stuff on voice, acting, pointers, all sorts of goodness, and probably more ragtime photos. 🙂

So, the final fan club list:

  • Chris B.
  • Andrea G.
  • Tiffany
  • Bill
  • Mom and Dad
  • Robin
  • J.R.
  • Bryan (my brother)
  • Kelly Z.
  • Matt Z. (These two are siblings, and my cousins!)
  • Sarah N.
  • Missy, Katie and Sarah

Thanks again to everyone who came out! We had more than 1,000 people see the show over three days.

Leave a Reply

